Look-a-Like

It usually starts off like this:

“Do you know you look just like (insert name here)?”

It doesn’t matter if it’s someone I’ve known for a while or a stranger in the grocery store, many people have felt compelled to tell me I look EXACTLY like many different people.

I find it interesting because there are times when I can see it, and there are other times where I think, “Is it because I’m one of the few mixed-race or African-Americans in the office/classroom/group/etc.?”

No matter the reason why, I try to stay lighthearted with it and have started making a list of all the people I’ve been told I look like.

Please enjoy.

 

DOROTHY DANDRIDGE

Dorothy Dandridge, born in the 1920s, was an actress, singer, and dancer. One of her more famous roles was Carmen Jones in the musical Carmen Jones. So, do I have that classic Hollywood glam face, or are people way off base?

dorothy mme

 

 

CHARLEY ROSE

Charley Rose is an actress best known for her role as Zoey Dalton in the TV series Nashville. Honestly, I don’t know if I see this one. Maybe if I were to dye my hair a light color?

charley rose me

 

JANELLE MONAE

Janelle Monáe is a singer who I, unfortunately, have yet to listen to. She’s most recognized by her style, and recently, people have been fawning over her for wearing her naturally curly hair down instead of in that pompadour style she’s famous for. So, could I sub in for her at a concert? I know I’ve got the moves, but what about the face?

jmoney

 

 

TAMERA (AND TIA) MOWRY

Tamera and Tia Mowry are actresses most famous for their TV series Sister Sister. I get told I look like “those twins from TV” most often, especially from strangers. Some say I look more like Tamera than Tia, so that’s why I chose that photo. They are actually really inspiring young ladies, and I think it’s cool people think I look like them. Sometimes I joke and say I’m the third twin. If Tia and Tamera are reading this, can we take a selfie together one day?

 

Tamera

 

BONUS: MY SISTER

Speaking of twins, everyone always said my sister, Ingrid, and I looked alike when we were young. Do we still look the same?

sisster

Leave a Reply

